Show the World your Passion

Ever since I was a child, I’ve always enjoyed drawing and creating art. Little did I know, I was developing a passion that I could follow for the rest of my life. There are many people in this world that don’t know which direction to take in life. Many of these people end up in a jobs or careers that they cannot be excited about, but others do. For me, I knew from an early age that I wanted to make a career around art.

While I was a typical teenager in high school, I found myself in some kind of art class every year. One year, I signed up for a class that I knew nothing about but the name of the class interested me. Intro to Graphic Design, what is that? What is Graphic Design? The teacher that taught the class wasn’t a graphic design, but she had friends who were. So I found myself learning a basic background to what Graphic Design was and that people actually made careers out of it. Now, I use to see logos, posters, book covers, and those big signs over roads they call bill boards. I didn’t know that graphic designers, illustrators, ad agencies, design firms and copyrighters were responsible for these visually interesting pieces of art that helped companies make names for themselves, or help sell their products. This was pretty awesome to learn.

We were assigned a project to come up with a name to a cereal brand that was our own, design a cereal box, and showcase this creation as our final to Intro to Graphic Design. This was the most exciting assignment I had ever had in my whole school career! To say the least, I was hooked! I wanted to be a graphic designer for the rest of my life & make this my career.

We where visited by The Art Institute of Seattle during this class, so that took the pain out of deciding on where I wanted to go to school. I had family in Seattle, so that was an easy choice. Convincing my parents that going to school for art and design was not so easy. I had to show them and prove to them that this was my passion! I did everything I could. I even tried to get a scholarship to The Art Institute of Seattle, but didn’t get it. They eventually gave in and helped me to send me out to Seattle. I graduated in 2 years and have never once felt bad about this decision.

My passion has lead me to a great career in graphic design. This passion keeps growing every day by learning new things or ways at solving problems using design. Helping clients and the people that employ me, is my greatest achievement. Anyone who isn’t sure of what they want to do for their career, I highly suggest finding your passion. If you have something you enjoy doing, pursue it! Take it to the next level and make a career out of it. If you love what you do, and have passion for it, you won’t feel like your working some stupid job that you could care less about. I promise! Show the world your passion!

Let me know what you’re passionate about. Do you make a career out of something your passionate about? Share your comments.

Leave a comment